Freedom

As I anticipate the approach of the 4th of July, I will often reflect and pray about the nature of freedom. In doing so, I stumbled on an excellent and challenging question by Colin Gunton:

“Is freedom no more than my not being prevented from doing what I want?”[1]

Gracious Father, help me to more deeply understand freedom as a gospel-empowered giving of myself for others, so that others delight your beauty. Constrain my affections so that I can reflect what it means to be truly free (Rom. 6:20-22).


 

[1] Colin E. Gunton, The One, the Three and the Many (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1994), 64.

 

About pastoralpensees

I have been happily married to my wife since 2000 and have two young sons. In 2012, I graduated from Covenant Theological Seminary with an MDiv,, and I would like to engage in pastoral ministry in a local church.
This entry was posted in Quotable Quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

